Winnsboro Cowboy Poetry and Music Gathering

Edit Teresa 1 (002)

Teresa Burleson

Our 2020 gathering includes winners of three of the 2019 IWMA Awards.

Mike Blakely color

Mike Blakely

Hailey Sandoz – Instrumentaltist of the Year, , Teresa Burleson – Female Poet of the Year
Mike Blakely – Working Cowboy Song of the Year!

The first Winnsboro Cowboy Poetry Gathering took place in October, 2019. Winnsboro, one of the smallest Cultural Arts Districts recognized by the state of Texas, is located about 100 miles east of Dallas in the rolling hills of East Texas.  For over 60 years now, Winnsboro has been home to the Autumn Trails Festival which takes place each year in October. Its beautiful fall foliage makes it a weekend destination for tourists from all over the state to attend a variety of events, including trail rides, parades, rodeos, classic car shows, music and more. 

In 2019, the Winnsboro Cowboy Poetry Gathering joined the list of October events in Winnsboro. This inaugural gathering included a first class roster of cowboy poets and musicians from three different states including Laverne “Straw” Berry, Teresa Burleson, Don Cadden, Bob Campbell, Allan and ”Rodeo Kate” Chapman, Pipp Gillette, Kristyn Harris, Chris Isaacs, Linda Kirkpatrick, Gary Robertson, Haley Sandoz, Jay Snider, Doug Tolleson plus locals Joe Dan Boyd, “Doc” Davis and Conrad Wolfman. Kick off for the event was a Friday evening concert by Michael Martin Murphey on The Bowery Stage which sold out far in advance.  Many of these poets will be returning for the 2020 Gathering, and Michael just may be back for two concerts instead of one this year!

Sign up for our email updates to receive information about our event.